Recomendations

Gidday Ian…

Thanks for your post.

FYI: I’m a Kiwi living in Canada… the ETNZ idea is to bring a little NZ culture into the frozen north and revel in the envy of this boat.

I have been building planes for over 25 years and have experience with fibreglassing, carbon fibre cloth and general construction methods tailored for lightness and strength.

Claudio’s plans and this thread convinced me that there is a lot more to this than I anticipated, although with the design work done, and the support of all you guys, a build doesn’t seem impossible… perhaps even a web build.

Let me know what you have and are thinking… I ship stuff from all over the world regularly so nothing is impossible.

Thanks a lot!

Goose

I thought it would be better to start a separate thread here rather than hijack Claudio`s most excellent treatise.

Basically I wanted to tell you that the general opinion is that the ETNZ kits are NOT great and there are other kits that will give you more pleasure in both the construction and sailing departments.

Your first decision is whether to go for a kit or a scratch build.
Standard advise is to find the local club and enquire as to what they sail in your area.
That will give you someone to sail with rather than owning an orphan.

I am part of the Wellington Radio Yacht Club and we were gifted an ETNZ boat which was put together for the local model shop by one of our senior skilled members.
This fellow spent approximately NZ$ 600 extra on this kit to bring it up to a reasonable specification.
Two weeks ago we sold it to a potential new club member for $300.
Just yesterday (Sunday) I insisted we give him his money back because IMHO I was not happy with the sailing characteristics of the boat and I did not want to discourage a new sailor. They look great but do not sail well.
If you want to fly the flag then have whatever you end up with decorated in the Team New Zealand colours.