Ok How do I Start

After 30 years of real sailboat racing, Catelina 27, Ericson 35, J-24. My knees and back have said enough. With a new knee, rolling around a J-24’s deck is not out of the question. My son, still active as a Pro lives in SF and suggested I look into RC Sailing. I live in Ventura CA but have not seen any RC activity. I know nothing about RC, have not built models since my days as a Control wire flyer in the 60’s, but I am an electrical engineer, retired and think I know some about Sail boat racing…so How about advice to a complete beginner.

Well welcome to the Forum, the Hobby, and hopefully something you will follow through on as it will be something you can most certainly enjoy for a long time to come.

Start with the www.AMYA.org as your first stop on the way. The good news is that when you go there and look up the clubs in your area you will find quite a few… also a couple more in SFO area and more to the South in SAN and a few more scattered all over the place. You hit paydirt for geography.

Take some time, many of the clubs have websites which will give you all the info that you need, and then look at the classes of boats that are sailed nearby. That is always a good way to start. Decide what you want in the way of a budget, boat, size and it almost works itself out for you.

Everything you have learned from big boat sailing transfers over including the rules with only a few minor changes… models use 4 boat lengths from the marks for overlap instead of 2 because it makes it easier to judge particularly at a distance.

Whether you want to race or just sit and peacefully enjoy your boat, (and there is something to be said for both) you will find all the help you need on either the AMYA, Local Club or here.