First scratch build

so this is my first attempt at scratch building. I decided to go with the JIF65, mainly due to the completeness of the plans. have found that balsa is definitely not my friend, and will have to really slow down and concentrate on my cuts. but got everything cut for the bulkheads and the hull, got them glued and sanded, (had to fill some very ugly gaps along the way) and am now putting the fiberglass on with the first coat of epoxy. I know its probably not the cleanest in the world, but its been really fun learning so far. :smiley:

got the keel in and a second coat of epoxy, got the rudder made and the internal supports in place. I’ll get pictures of the internals after the epoxy dries since I forgot to take them before I put the epoxy on :dunce:

any suggestions would be most welcome.

How much fun is building boats :smiley:
I’ve finally been sailing ours and so far 3 people have started builds just from seeing ours on the water.

Cheers
Andrew

I"m loving the construction, and can’t wait to even do just a tub test on mine. are there any good tutorials on how to make the sails?

If you look for Claudio’s tool there’s some good stuff but rather advanced. I made the Jif65 sails out of drafting paper. I didn’t even have a big enough piece so I put pieces together with double sided tape, and used gaffer tape for the re-enforced bits, but it only kind of worked lol. I couldn’t find the recommended tapes out here. Did you get the keel trunk in straight? I messed that up twice:( boats still go very well anyway.