Which Class M or US Meter One

I’m a newbie to Model Yachting coming over from RC Sailplanes. Could someone recommend some good kits in US One Meter and the Marblehead class? And where to find the good kit manufacturers.

Thanks

With the exception of some “plastic” 1 meter kits, you probably won’t find anything in the “M” or US 1 Meter classes as true “kits” for assembly. Most are scratch built or purchased from a custom builder.

In the “plastic kit” area, don’t discount the Victor Products Soling, or the Seawind which are both recognized AMYA classes. This means you would find a decent resale value as both are pretty rigid one-design classes.

As always - check locally first, as you may find something used to let you get started at an entry level price. Just to put into perspective the “M” Class can easily reach costs of over $2,000 for a competitive, state-of-the-art boat. Most plans avilable are also a bit older, and not current design as well. If you elect to go the US1M route, you may find some good used boats, but they can run upwards of $1200 as well - even used.

A good source of info is the AMYA website - just do your homework to be sure what you decide on is fairly current and raced nearby.

Thanks

hi axle
as dick was saying you can be looking at a large payout for competative m’s or iom’s but saying that if you are willing to look around and don’t mind a boat just of the pace there are some good second hand boats around i’m sailing a 20 year old marble. A maltese falcon (australian design) i paid $150aus for this boat it sails well not super fast but in our club it is in the top 3 every week

Hi
For US1M “kits” you may want to contact Mike Hughes. You can find his contact informations on this site or the US1M Yahoo group site.

Gio

i would also suggest contacting mike. not only does he have us 1 meters, but he also does a IOM called"kite" and that is the next IOM i am building.
cougar

Thanks Guys.