Victoria

Some mates and I have all bought Victoria?s for some fun at lunch times, lucky enough to work right next door to Chatham Dock yard and its old mast pond!

Any way

In our simple rules (must use all the major kit parts, hull, foils, spars, sails etc but can rig it how we want) what does the forum think are the most important areas when it comes to getting the best out of them.

I sail dinghy?s so understand wind, waves rigs etc but I?m new to models.

We quickly figured that we have to get a balance, a little weather helm but not to much, but how do we get boat speed :-;

Thanks

Ian

The Vic isn’t the quickest boat especially with stock sails, we race the Vic and go all stock except for the sails. The racing sails from Rod Carr or blackmagic really make for a fast Vic. As far as speed goes keep the weight down to the stock 4.5oz and use adjust your mast forward/back depending on the wind. I am pretty new at yacht racing but it seems that a lighter boat will accelerate very quickly.

Vince

On my Vic, I replaced everything above the deck. But something that can help the Vic ot maintain some speed is to move the weight below the deck back so as to keep the curve of the bow just above the waterline. This will allow the bow to slide over some waves. I’m currently revamping the radio gear setup to help with that bow angle. The sail servo is mounted to the floor of the hull, with a smaller rudder servo mounted just inside where the pushrod enters the hull. This will allow me to move the battery (5-cell NiMH) behind the sail servo as opposed to where the stock radio box allows. My Vic was my first experience with sailing in any form. Yet with my boat, I can keep up with another in the sailing club that has years of full scale racing experience. Good luck with yours.

Travis

Don’t forget to have fun!!!