V-12A Kit Build

I’m new to sailboat building. I started a few nights ago on Victor Model Products V-12 A.

I’m now to the point where I’m placing the radio equipment and got to thinking about how my transmitter sticks return to center. I’m wondering if it would be better to remove the stick centering mechnism, so that where I set the stick, it stays. Then if you couold also add the detent mechanism supplied with some transmitters, to count the clicks. A good learning tool? :rolleyes:

This is standard practice when using R/C for Live Steam locomotives. I’m wondering what the experienced skippers/builders here do?

Howard

You want to keep the centering mechanism on the rudder control, since you always want it centered unless you are turning.

But you want to remove the centering mechanism on the sail control, and add a ratchet mechanism that allows it to stay where it is. The ratchet may be part of the transmitter kit, or you may have to order it separately.

The radio transmitter will probably have instructions for this.

You remove the spring(s) and the plastic yoke to defeat the centering mechanism. then you need a small metal strip with a tooth on the end to screw onto the control. You’ll need to order some (Tower Hobbies has them, or maybe your LHS), unless you’re really good with tiny bits of flimsy metal.

Below is a quick drawing of the ratchet strip. It may give you an idea of the part used for ratcheting the ‘throttle’ stick.

hth

Thanks Tomohawk, luckily a rachet came with the transmitter. I just have to install it.

Howard

I need some help with identifying a source for obtaining Dacron line to finish my V-12.

Does anyone know what weight dacron line I should get?

Howard

For Foooties, you can use almost anything anywhere. Use BRAIDED line. 15lb. should be just fine. Something you can tie into knots easily.

The fishing line you can usually get at a tackle/fishing store.

For line and other parts, check this out.