Urgent - advice on book

I urgently need the tirle of a good, reasonably inexpensive American book on how to sail that is relevant to model sailors. Should be intendd for reasonably intelligent total beginners.

Thanks people.

:zbeer::zbeer::zbeer::zbeer:

Angus,

It’s been a while since I was a sailing instructor trainer for American Red Cross - but they had a paperback book that went through the basics of sailing, boat trim, definitions, terminology, etc.

It has been 20 years since I ended my volunteer work with the American Red Cross as sailing, swimming and lifesaving instructor trainer as well as member of board of directors. Before leaving we made a recommendation to align with a sailing institution to co-author an updated book.

A quick check reveals: http://www.amazon.com/Start-Sailing-Right-Instruction-Certification/dp/1882502485 written by Derrick Fries.

I sailed against Derrick when he was North American Champion in the Force 5 dinghy class and the guy was good. Amazon has the book for under $12.00 (U.S.) and I haven’t read it, but seems it will cover most basics. Might also want to email Chris Jackson and see if your U.K. magazine (Marine Modeling) for which he was an editor, might have some focused publications on r/c sailing, rather than sailing in general.

Dick

Hi Angus

Sorry, not American, but the following book & video could be of interest to many forum readers.

We are planning a beer & popcorn viewing for our www.tanglewoodmyc.com skippers soon.

Thr only book I have seen mentioned on R/C sailing is the following Brit book. It was shown in the 90 minute video avail from Traplet. The movie contains segments on many of your Brit friends mentioned on this forum (Stollery’s son, Lester, etc). Racing footage is great and shows RC Lazer, IOM, Marblehead, Ten Rater and 2 Metre RA Class. These boats fly. Maybe we should bring it to the Footy NCR?

Radio controlled racing Sailboats by Chris Jackson
www.traplet.com
Traplet Publicationss Ltd