"Trilogy" Kiwi Mini40 build log

I have really enjoyed following the build logs posted on this site over the past year so decided I would post mine here as well.

This Mini40 project has been something I have been chipping away at for the last 12 months, it was put on the back burner for the last 4 months but I am now back in the workshop when time allows so will be starting this log at a point where most of my plugs are ready for moulding.

A big thanks to all forum contributors for their assistance and direction, particularly Ernst aka “disabled” for his “Nightmare” set of plans that got me started on this obsessive road.

I really fell for the Orma 60 tri’s , particular this one.I had to build one just like it!.

I am building moulds for everything so I can produce multiple units, won’t bore you with the details of how I got to this point but here are all the plugs I have completed thus far, they are polished, have 4 applications of release film and now ready for tooling gelcoat/ moulding. They are the Main hull, Ama hull, Rudder,centre fin,transom parting board flanges and enclosures for radio gear/batteries.

I have done a bit of bagging over the years but have never vacuum moulded onto a table.I have been playing with the idea of table vacuuming the hull plugs so thought the foil moulds would be a good place to practise as they are fairly simple plug forms.

So over the past couple of weeks I have been building these foil “half” moulds.

First off, pressed the 4mm stainless posts into post channel with plasticine and then screwed on a block of “sacrificial kitchen breadboard” onto each corner of plug to act as key lock for the two final halves.Then brushed on two coats of epoxy gelcoat, cured , sanded and coved the key locator edges with epoxy filleting mix.

One of these pics shows the two plugs sitting on the table with bag prepared and ready to laminate.

Didn’t want to suck the soul out of the plug so vacuumed the laminate down with 1/2 an atmosphere.