Thinking about building a Nightmare VIII from plans...help needed

Hello all. I am relatively new to RC Sailing, but not new to modeling. I am thinking about building a MultiHull from scratch and have downloaded several sets of free plans. The boat I really would like to construct is a Nighmare VIII, but I have a problem with the sections. In printing them from the PDF version and cross referencing them to the reference sheet, I struggle to produce the sections in the correct size.

Even what is supposed to be a full sized section 6 doesn’t print quite to the right dimension. It measures 138mm where the reference shows 144mm.

I have tried printing full size, not scaled to fit, but I can’t seem to get them to work out. Has anyone built from this particular set of plans?

Thanks,
James Vaello

James,

Printing exact scale from a PDF file can be problematic. Getting the plans in a different format that can be printed exactly to scale would be the best thing. But, if you can’t, as a work around, try printing at 105% then measuring the drawing. That may get you close enough. If not, add or subtract a few hundredths or thousandths of a percent until you are satisfied that the sections print as they should.

Good luck.

I sent a note to Ernst Zeamann (AKA Disabled) about your problem. Please watch for his reply here.

Dick Lemke

Hi,
the original drawings have been made to fit european standard A4 size -

• 297 x 210 mm - paper sheets.
    If your printer is set up to use american standard sizes, this may be the reason for the corruption of the files.
    (Has happened before.)

Anyway - I´ll try again to upload my original zip.-files here.
Maybe this helps.

Ernst Zemann

I have now uploaded all Mini 40 datas I currently have + some other stuff that may be interesting/useful/challenging - have fun!

Thanks for all the replies thus far!

Dick Lemke:
Thanks for sending him a note. Nice to see him chime in on the subject. I wasn’t sure if he was still active in the forums.