Sailing report - good fun had by all

I went sailing today and wanted to let folks know the outcome. I was joined by another club member who kindly brought along an EC12 for me to play with while he maidened his Footy. Fun fun fun

I had the wind gauge with me too. Fairly steady 6-15 mph winds. Gusts to 20 mph. Wind direction was steady early on and became more variable as we sailed. 1/2-2 inch waves (trough to crest) on the lake, not bad considering the wind. I’ve seen worse on the lake with winds from another direction.

First, I wanted to sail the EC12 to figure out what boat behaviors are wind, wave and skipper related and which are possibly hull design or rig related. I’m still learning the whole sailing business. After watching the EC12 make the same sudden turns as winds shifted or idiot skipper hauled the sails to an unlikely trim, I have a much better understanding what does what. The EC12 just behaves on a different time scale and the skipper has a chance to react and correct for changing conditions. The Footys in the same situation will turn 130 degrees in half a hull length before you can blink. Twitchy little things.

Razor report - I had new sails from ScaleSailing installed on my boat. It points better and tacks better now too. Speed seems good. Sails nicely on all points. The maiden boat was a Razor design built from styrene. Very nicely made and sails well. The skipper made several adjustments to the battery location for balance and will probably split the 4 cells up since his sail servo is exactly where the batteries need to be. The 2 Razors are pretty even speed-wise. His is a little faster but I think his rig works better than mine. I have a few more improvements to make.