sail making

hi guys
just wondering if that sail making thread. did any good? has anybody tried to make thier own sails? i know i did. with help from members like lester and dan.:zbeer: even alot of other people. :zbeer:. I have made 3 sets of IOM sails. has anybody else done a set. and if so? tell us how they worked
cougar

I have been making my own sails for 5 years(since I started this hobby) but the turning point was that thread. Claudio’s gadget was the answer. Simplicity,repeatability and you don’t need a shop full of blocks. I made the Gadjet in less time than it took to make one sailing block and I had about ten blocks(they’re firewood now) and that’s not taking into account the time spent making the jig to make the blocks. Oh, and about fifteen gallons less sawdust. Can you tell I am pumped about the Gadjet. I even had a professional big boat sailmaker comment on how smooth the broadseaming was. I wish we could have gotten a little deeper into luff curves and how to match it to the mast. I’ve tried everything I can think of and I the best I can do is make the curve too generous and then recut after I have sailed the boat a couple of times.
Don

Hi guys

What has happened to that thread? I can’t locate it on the forum for some reason…!

Try here
http://www.rcsailing.net/forum1/showthread.php?t=3110

While I’ve got your attention have you tried Profili2? It’s for airfoils but it goes down to Re30000.
Don

hi lester
good to hear from you. and i wanted to thank you for running that test ,for me on my sails. now i just need to find out how to get the top 1/3 of the main sail to stop twisting. lol :slight_smile: but this is the fun part of the hobby. we get to find out how to do thing right
so far , not many people have tried to build thier own sails it seems
cougar

Hi Don

Thanks for the link! Nope, haven’t tried Profili2, the darn day job keeps me away!