Rules driving design - inspired by Niel

Just so you know, I’m new to this whole sailing business so I may make some strange statements sometimes. You can see the extent of my model sailing experience here.

Niel asked us to question the restrictions in the rules and how it might drive the future of the class. I also have some rules questions I’ve been saving. I don’t have enough experience to ponder the future of the class based on reading the rules.

1. Niel, do you have a copy or link to the rules you built your Bantams for?

2. Rule C3© - if the smaller set of sails cannot be more than 305mm above the box, does that mean that boats with short keels have a shorter limit than boats with long keels since thay will sit lower in the box? Assume vertical orientation in the box.

3. Mast height - do I understand that there is not limit to the size of one set of sails used during a race?

4. Rule G3© makes no sense to me. If sails #s 01,08,10,18,80 and 81 shall display a prefix ‘1’ and become 101,108,110,118,180 and 181, what happens to folks with those numbers?

Comments to Niel’s original post.

1. Units don’t matter to me and should not be an issue. 305mm = 1 foot Use metric or convert to what you’re comfortable using. If you’re concerned about rounding errors affecting legality of your boat, err on the safe side.

2. Now that the class is in the AMYA we have a mechanism to modify the rules. Before that, it was a few interested folks discussing things through whatever channels they chose. Propose a change and we’ll see where it goes.

Answered my own first question, I think. Is this the old Footy class rules that you used Niel? http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~bsmack/rules.html

Both sets of rules seem to allow additional propulsion systems though. Or am I missing something that says “wind powered only”? Now where would I put the rocket assist pack? :wink:

With regard to your point 4 - sail numbers - the logic is as follows: