Rule B.2 Question

Footy rule B.2 refers to “associated fittings” extending above the plane of the top of the deck.

Would a mainsheet “feed thru/standoff” near the bow be considered an “associated fitting” and thus be allowed to project above the top of the box? This item is glued to the deck.

Thanks for the help. Frank

The general rule (which is actually part of the ISAF Equipment rules of sailing - somewhere) is that if it is in tension, it is an associated fitting, if in compression it’s part of the hull. Your fairlead sounds OK to me.

Thanks Angus

I sure hope it’s legal. The purpose of the height is to minimize water intake.