Purchasing gift for potential RC sailor

Hi,

I’m trying to find a nice rc (or at least rc compatible) sailboat to buy a friend for Christmas. I’m looking to spend around $80. Do I have any good options out there??

I’m totally new to this and my friend is too - but I know they would be totally into this. I hope to find a fairly simple wooden boat kit. I’d like it to be RC, but I’m thinking that I don’t have enough cash. Are there options so that they could buy the RC components, if they want, after they build the model boat?

Thanks in advance

i think you are looking a dumas. $80 is not alot of money for this hobby. you might be able to get the dumas ace racing sloop. and convert it to rc. but if you could come up with a litlle more. not much. go after the victoria. good boat and in a class. you might also check out victor models. they sell a good product . preety cheap. i have one
cougar
long live the cup and cris dickson

for 80$…no idea what you could get…maybe a Niko toy…

The Victoria might be the cheapest boat out there, hmm maybe the Nirvana…
Anyway with servos and TX RX…I would say, about 200$

not much help sorry

-Wis

_/ if it isn’t broken, don’t fix it! _

I’ll have to agree with Wis. The Vic is an easy boat to set
up. You can pick it up for near $100, and then there’s the
many radio options that start at $40 at Tower Hobbies. But
there’s no limit to how far you can go. I have around $300
in my Vic, but that includes some of the go-fast stuff on it.

Travis

Don’t forget to have fun!!!

Thanks for the responses.

So, ya, I don’t have much of a budget. But am I understanding that I could potentially get the Victoria w/out electric components (servos and tx/rx parts) for around $100? If so, that is workable. I figure if there is enough interest, and they build it, they can get that stuff later.