Pouring Lead in High Temperature Gasket Maker

So…
I’m building a Claudio ETNZ and having some fun doing so. (I’m a complete newbie, don’t even know how to sail). In reading all over the net about different techniques I decided to try pouring a bulb into High Temperature Gasket Maker, as some have asked about, but not posted results. Well, here are my results.

I has a friend with a lathe turn me an bulb, slightly oversized as I was paraniod about coming in under weight.  I coated the bulb with some paint and some wax and cast it in a small casting box, in plaster.  This gave me the half profile sticking above the plaster as per Claudio's description in his AC33 build.  

I covered the bulb and some of the plaster with a thin layer of petrolium jelly (vasoline) and had another box ready to put on top of the already cast one.  I picked up one tube of Permatex Red High Temperature Gasket maker.  I layed down a thin bead of the rtv, patting it down with a wet finger to try to eliminate air bubbles, all over the bulb.  I tried to keep the layer relatively thin, because this one part RTV cures using humidity in the air.  I let this layer set for a day.  I then added more layers in the same manner, until the tube was empty.  This did not fillup my casting box, so I poured plaster and fibreglass scrap cuttings in as a mother mold, to fill the rest of the upside down casting box (I never did put a bottom on it).  Once set, I carefully separated the two casting boxes and had my mold.  The internal surface fo the RTV mold was not perfectly smooth, however, as the caulking type RTV does not pour, but it was perfectly acceptable as far as I was concerned.