One Design Classes - Pros and Cons

I would like to open a discussion on the pro and cons of allowing modifications within the One Design Classes of the AMYA.

Has allowing or disallowing modifications helped or hurt the recruitment of new members to the local clubs?

What type of a criteria do you use to jugde whether a modification is justified or not?

I am new to this sport and I would like to hear from skippers who sail in these One Design Classes.

Those who want to discuss technology need not apply.

Tom
Seawind #80

Tom - an observation and opinion…

The bigger the group affected, or the higher the cost to upgrade, will seriously deter classes from making changes. Not that it can’t be done, but the Soling 1 Meter is a recent example where most proposals were accepted - or rejected, based on the perceived value to the members.

Part of the reason for one-designs is to try to insure the value of the boat remains constant. If a boat quickly falls out of performance range and requires significant costs to upgrade and maintain, then the initial value of the boat is quickly lost, and the owner will either vote “NO” to changes, or he will simply not renew his memebrship in that class.

There really needs to be a good reason and vision to make changes after the class has developed. A couple new (proposed) classes are going through that right now. People have purchased and modified the boat for local sailing. they don’t want to open the class up for more expense, but would like to see “THEIR” modifications adopted… AND … at the same time keep the class from becoming a runaway on-going development class. Development classes are great - but going into the class you at least understand there will be (perhaps) costly upgrades to remain competitive. On the other hand, someone purchases a boat billed as one-design and thinks that there will be no future costs.