no rudder sailing

12-15 years ago when I was crewing on a olympic class dinghy hoping for olympic selection, we would quite often go sailing without the rudder. What this does is really teaches you sail control.

I was wondering if the monohull guys had ever tried this with the r/c boats?

I think it would be very hard to do with the multihull, but I will give it ago, after the titles.

Peter

As an instructor on diffirent types of sailboats I too often leave the rudder at home. This exercise is done to improve main and headsail-control. I don’t really see how you could do this when both are on the same winch as on (the most) RC’s … ?

It also teaches you how to steer with heel, but again, difficult to do on RC… unless of course you have movable ballast (insert evil laughter here:-)

Graham

hmmmmmmm intresting. i have never tried that with an rc boat before.
i think it will be done this weekend
cougar
long live the cup

Take a look at the sail winch geometry that I have incorporated on my boat (toward the bottom of the article):

http://www.onemetre.net/Download/Armwinch/armwinch.htm

Using this geometry, I am able to fine tune the mainsail sheeting with much smaller adjustments to the jib sheeting (the two sail trims are not proportional at the close hauled sheeting angles).

While I have not actually sailed my boat sans rudder, I have sailed entire windward legs by steering with my sails and only using my rudder to tack. Let me tell you that it is extremely fast to steer your boat this way.

I could probably take the rudder off my boat and do a pretty good job of steering it (at least upwind on one tack). i’m not sure if I have enough authority to actually tack the boat. and getting the boat to head down onto a reach or run would be very difficult…

• Will

Will Gorgen