Nirvana Questions

Hi Folks!

I am new to this hobby. I wanted to say hi & ask a couple of questions. I just got a new Nirvana and was wondering how you transport the sails to and from the field. The sails are mylar and can get wrinkles in them very easily. Do wrinkles in the sail matter? If they do not matter, is it a good idea to just pre wrinkle the sail? That way wrinkles will not show.
Also why does the boom have an adustment for setting it at different angles?
Does it change the aifoil?

Thanks in advance,
George

George,

No, you don?t want wrinkles in your sails. You need to take care that you don?t by transporting them carefully. Many people make sail boxes to prevent damage. Some are as simple as folding over large sheets of cardboard to building them out of thin plywood. Think of it as a briefcase for your rig. Also have seen very well made rig bags made from heavy Mylar and composite sail cloth. You slide your hole rig into this bag.

Not really sure just how the Nirvana is rigged, but several here have the boat I believe and should be able to help out lots. 

Keep the sails as smooth as possible. You?ll most likely get some creasing over time, but treat them well as they are your engine.

We have over 15 Nirvannas in Central Park this year. Most people just keep the sails on the boat when transporting it. Just keep the nose pointed into the wind and try not to let the sails flap too badly.

Wrinkles are a bad idea, set up properly the sails should be wrinkle free and take on a smooth shape.

Thanks guys for the advice, I will make some cardboard sail protectors.

How about the angle adjustment on the main boom?
What does the main sail do if the boom is allowed to have an angle of less than 90 degrees?

Also what does the loosness of the sail do?
I see that there is an adjustment to move the end of the sail and jib tight and loose.