Newby questions

I discovered footies yesterday and spent a few hours poking around on the internet reading a lot but not finding answers to a few key questions, so I thought I’d ask them here.

What do you use for sail material and battens?

How do you protect the RC gear against water damage?

I’ve landed my planes in fresh water and had no problems, but two landings in salt water many years ago proved very expensive.

And finally, what are the common ways of rigging the sails and controlling them?

All the plans I’ve looked at seem to concentrate on the hull, which seems like the easiest part to me, aside from the subtleties of shape, but the details of rigging and sail control seem to be taken for granted. Since I don’t know anyone who does this I am on my own.

BTW, I built a full sized Windmill Class sloop a zillion years ago and I’ve done a reasonable amount of full sized sailing, so in that sense I am not a newbie.

Pete

Pete,

Welcome aboard, welcome to Footydom!

Your questions are straightforward but important - and as such probably don’t have a unique answer, but the assembled, experienced brians on this forum will no doubt impart lots of wisdom.

<<What do you use for sail material and battens?>>
Battens generally seem to be absent, but where they exist - thin self-adhesive tape. I have recently discovered laminating pocket material which can be cut to shape and ironed on - use for battens or corner re-inforcements
Sail material - anything thin and flexible - I have used umbrella nylon, and some of the kit boats come with very light kite cloth - these are probably the thickest sensible materails. Florists film, thin drafting film (mylar) and polythene bags all have their exponents

How do you protect the RC gear against water damage?