New topics-Lets get back on track.

Does anyone want to talk about anything other than new technology that is a very very small part of rc sailing? We are wasting way too much time on it. The holidays are over and it is time to get back on track.

Bob,

What a great idea! Here’s what’s on my mind:

I am about to build a V-32K with my 11 year old daughter. Hopefully we will have it ready for the 2004 summer. She and I are both looking forward to the building, then the sailing. I have a V-32 already.

Im not familiar with the V-32 but that is great!My dad introduced me to this sport and full size racing when I was about 10, I sailed full size until I was about 28 when time constraints really hampered my ability to campaign a full size boat but the RC boats never left me I have been doing this for about 25 years now with maybe one season off. I’ve found this to be a very satisfying way to get my sailing fix. I race about three or four times a month in the spring summer and fall. I also think you can learn a lot about tactics, tuning and sailing rules through RC boats. It is also, in my opinion, a lot better for kids because you are outside, walking around and the actual building of a model can be a really good exercise in education. I don’t know why more kids aren’t exposed to this from their parents? Maybe I am getting old and out of touch with the kids of todays generation.

It’s a hard hobby for kids mainly due to the concentration levels it takes to do it. I tried getting my son involved, but he’s just not there mentally yet and after a couple of heats, he’s done. Usually off exploring the dam or back to the car playing that stupid Gameboy! [:-banghead]

The photo above is one that I cherish. My son launching the ORCO.

Hey, let’s face it, it’s an old mans hobby and we are lucky enough to have as many young (under 40) skippers out there to keep us feeling old. It would be fun though to see more women out there I think.