New to RC Sailing

Good Evening to everyone.

I am new to RC Sailing, I had never even thought about it until 2 weeks ago whn I happened upon some RC Sailors in the Wetlands park in Northern Yuma AZ.

I have a big Sailboat at least to me. It is a 27’ Trailer Sailer. Problem is now i can’t run around on deck any more with two hip replacements. My balance and stability is not good.

So now I am looking at building my own Wood/Glass Larger Pond Boat.

I am looking for a nice plan to build a boat with a LOA of approx 40-50 inches or so. I have built full sized Western Red Cedar Stripper Boats and Canoes. The building is the fun part.

I will be lurking and learning.

Tom…:smiley:

Hi Tom, and welcome.

Are you looking to scratch-build using plans only, or are you thinking about a kit with most of the stuff included? Check out some of Claudio’s designs/plans on the site for scratch-build Marblehead (50/800) designs, or Google Tippecanoe Models yachts and take a look at their 50/800 (design is T50 series).

Dick

Hi Dick,

I really like to scratch build. I love to play round with a plan and modify it to be what I want it to be, I am not so interested in class racing.

Just this morning I came across “J” boats. I have always like the look of the old beauties. I love the long bow and stern curves and the sheer curve of the deck. I have done a search and can’t seem to come up with a place to buy plans. Would you have any suggestions?

My wife is a Traveling Nurse and we go to lots of different places. I would like to build a 50"-60" LOA Hull. I also don’t want the really deep keel that such a length would warrant. It would keep me from sailing some of the smaller park ponds that don’t have the depth.

Any help would be appreciated.

Tom…