New memberfrom Greece

Hi all,

My name is Abraham and I’m a Graphic Designer/ 3D Generalist/ Instructor living in Greece.

My first sailing experience was in the 70s with Optimists. I then raced for some years the family Lightning and then…nothing…due to a knee injury, college, career etc.

In 2003 begun RC sailing with a brand new Bagheera IOM, I got from Meterboats in Sweden.

In 2011 I build my first model, a Footy Razor3, then an RG65 Apsara Bouchain which is now RIP (Rest In Pieces). You may see it’s build log here http://www.rg65.gr/build-log
In 2013 I participated in the RG65 Europeans, with a loaner Round Ranger, but we both where not ready for the task and ended at the bottom :slight_smile:

Last year a very good friend, gave me one of his Marblehead test boats, build in Kevlar from Claudio’s Esterel Diamond plans and that is what I’m now racing with.

Cheers,
Abraham

Welcome Abi,
glad to hear that you are presently sailing with a M Class “Esterel Diamond” that have BTW (by the way) changed the name in “Esterel Ruby” to avoid confusion with another existing Diamond.
Hope more news about.
Cheers
ClaudioD

Hi Claudio,
Thank you for the warm welcome.
BTW the boat sails very well in both light and stronger breeze, even though I currently only have a single A swing rig. I’m using it even when the others switch to B, with minor overpower problems.
In January I was second out of seventeen boats.
October the 16th, we raced for the first time at an artificial lake with sea water. I had just painted the boat purple, but due to obviously a not very good prior cleaning, it was full of spots even though I spent a day sanding most of the paint away. I was finally 4th out of 18, sharing the same points with the guy in 3rd. There where two more Esterels in 8th and 12th place.

//youtu.be/LB7_nLpKEhA

Here you may see a video of that day. Mine is the purple one GRE 07.
Next race is coming Sunday.