New and need help

Hello,

I am new to this sport. I have just begun building an “ac33” design by Claudio D. It is about 1270mm long and designed to fit in the Marblehead rules. I am very excited, but being in the first stages I am researching what is required; getting a ‘shopping list’ together if you like so once I start there are no nasty surprises.

Today’s job is researching radio systems. I am keen to hear what people use, what to look for and any traps to look out for.

To start you off, I plan to just have a sail winch (an RMG if my ‘Chief Finance Officer’ (Wife) allows), and a steering servo. 2GHz appeals to me as it sounds easy, but I am hesitant as I have no idea wether they have ‘compatibility’ issues with servos of different types.

Another question - I have seen radios advertised for RC yacht use which have had ‘binding completed’. What does this mean, and is it required??

I love this forum - just about everyone seems quite knowlegeable and friendly!! Once I start building I plan to put a build log on here too!!

Thanks in advance,

Brad

2.4gHz radios work well with yachts. I use the SpeKtrum DX6i but others in my club get good results from Futabas and even Hobbyking radios. I like the programming abilities of the computer radios. It helps set end points for servos, proportional rudder and a couple other things. I also have several boats so storing settings helps when switching around.

I’m not sure what “binding completed” means exactly. 2.4gHz systems bind the receiver (Rx) to the transmitter (Tx). It’s a quick process where the Rx knows which Tx to listen too. The unique codes created during binding make sure signals from another Tx are ignored by the Rx.

Enjoy building,

John

P.S. Wire the RMG so the Rx and winch get their own power. There are reports of Rx resetting and losing connection with the Tx when the RMG draws power. The RMG manual covers wiring options.