Mid-Day Break Club

Dear All…

I am a primary teacher and was thinking of setting a a mid-day break club with 11/12 year olds to produce a footy fleet which we can sail in a nice place very close to school. My background is very technically limited in RC Sailing. I have been into model sailing for the past three years and have built a 1/12 replica of +39. I also have a one metre which I sail in regttas at the local club. I am capable of following a plan and in fact i am buliding a razor but when it comes to measurements (layout of mast, keel etc) I am finding it difficult to find more information. Another problem I am encountering is that I don’t know which type of servos to use… what torque etc…

If anyone would like to help I would really appreciate it! This is a way to get students to produce something and have fun at the same time.
Regards

nicmifsud
Malta

My email is translate@enterprise.net. This is very much how I thinkm we should be growing the class. Anything I an do to help, I will.

I’m in UK

Thanks for your willingness to help…

I will be formulating some sort of difficulty list in the coming days and will forward it to you. I will put some photos of my boats too so you get an idea of what I am planning.

There is a system by which we get funding from our government for projects of this sort because the promote technical design, choice of material, alternative energy and so on. If I manage to get this funding I plan to have at least a fleet of 8 footies. I have a group of interseted students (who attend sailing lessons) and therfore I envisage a good response.
Will keep you posted!

Regards

nic

Also see my last posting to Nearly Finishied First Razor. I’m sure Roger Stollery would be prepared to give advice. His Bug 3 design was produced for precisely this purpose.

See amendment to peviois post. Sorry