Making a new Yacht

Hi everyone,
I’m in Yr 12 this year & for one of my subjects I’m making a R/C yacht, I have a hull for a 10 Rater so I thought I would use that, but I don’t want to make the it to the 10 Rater rule.
I have been sailing my dads 10 Rater for a couple of years now, in between sailing & teaching people how to sail.
The length of the hull is like 1.54m, beam is about 31cm, the mast of dads is 2.22m high, so I was thinking if I increase that to 3m, but I don’t know how to work out how bigger I will need to make the bulb and keel.
Plus I was thinking of adding a assy kite like on the 18ft skiffs, but I don’t know how to do that as I’m new to building RC yachts.
Thanks in advance
Rob

Download Attachment: Rcyacht.jpg
64.38KB

You’d take advice from those whom you call idiots?

The other Matt

I think it would be a big mistake to increase the rig to 3 meters! You’d do better to change the planform of the sails -at least the main -to a square top keeping the CE as low as possible. Some 10 raters in the US are experimenting with square tops with good results.
On www.microsail.com there are sketches of two different spinnaker systems. On a model an asy spin is exactly TWICE as costly and complex as is a symetrical spinnaker. On an asy set up you need one or two powerfull sheetwinches in addition to the set/douse winch.