Machichaco

Hi
I’ve always been in love with scale sailboats, since I was a kid I’ve tried to build some, some of them successfully some others not at all. The time passed quickly and now that I finished college I want to try again. This time with a model not so hard but nice enough and I found these plans of machichaco sailboat which I think are pretty detailed and complete. I would like some help from you before getting started.

First of all, the size of the boat. I would like it to be about one meter in length. Which size do you recommend me for a boat like this one?
As I am an engineer I will start by making a 3d model of the boat. I am solidworks professional so it will be easy for me. I also own a laser cutter which I think will be helpful. I am planning to build the boat with balsa because is very easy to handle and very light also. Once I finish the 3d model this post will serve as a build log. Hope it will be interesting for you.

I am from Mexico but now I live at Prague, right in front of the river and I do not want to miss the opportunity to sail there.

Your picture certainly shows an attractive yacht reminiscent of the IOR designs of the 70’s / 80’s. In terms of an appropriate size for your model I’d of thought 1m a minimum and to ensure good sailing performance would consider something around 1.2 - 1.3m. Reasoning? To maintain true scale dimensions you really need to consider displacement to allow maximum possible ballast without the finished model floating to far below her LWL. Alternatively, keep her to scale above the waterline but consider the use of a deeper fin and possible ballast bulb to maximise righting moments.

Good luck with this project and I look forward to reading / seeing pictures of your progress.

Regards,

Row

Hi Juan,

looks similar to an Optimist from Graupner
(a nice boat that performs very well with a homemade lightweight rig and a well trimmed set of sails):