MacGuyver required for moveable ballast...

Howdy folks!

In case you didn’t quite know what the subject meant, it harkens back to those good ol late 80s and early 90s when the show MacGuyver (spelling?) was broadcast into millions of homes. MacGuyver of course, is that mullet headed genius who could build anything out of toothpicks, gum, and a match… which brings me to my puzzle:

With the following items, construct a deck mounted moveable ballast system. Now I’m a college student, and as such $ are short. Thus I’m making due with what I have. What I want is a lead “sled” that will slide side-to-side on aluminum tubes, and can be adjusted to keep a boat relatively level while sailing.

What you get:

1- 18 inch wide “rack” which consists of two “capping” pieces a foot long with two dowels and two aluminum tubes running between them. (It basically looks like a drying rack, if that means anything)

1- arm sail winch

1- lead sled. Actually a wooden sledge that will have grooves that will keep it on the aluminum tubes, allowing for side to side travel.

any number of screw-eyes and hundreds of feet of fishing line.

oh yeah, and a one foot long winch arm (but it could be shorter).

OK guys, go at it!

HELP ME OUT!!!

Graham

OK Graham -

but more info is needed!

What kind of boat is this going to be installed on?

What is the freeboard available?
(How high is the deck from the water?)
How much can the boat heel (degrees or angle) befor the outer tips of the “rack” hit the water/waves?

As a college student I assume you have already made use of your math education [:-graduate] and have calculated the diffence in righting moment from a lead keel bulb at XX inches below the water weighing YY lbs. versus your sliding weight at 9 inches? (1/2 the length of your 18 inch “rack”) What weight do you need to equal the righting moment of a standard keel at XX inches below the water?

If you haven’t done that yet, and you want to experiment, run those numbers first.