m505

i have been thinking about a class that would allow for ideas formed in the footy class to be tryed on a larger, more powerful scale… to an extent. the class would have its own rules, and thus be unique, but it might provide a place to see what happens when you stretch your hull length…

here is what i have come up with so far…
tell me what you think!

m505 class rules v 1.0 [these really should not yet be called “rules” as they are really just outlines… but the title works for now…]

-The boat, in racing trim shall fit into a box 505mm long and 252mm wide and 305mm deep. - the following may extend out from the box: rig - mast boom - sail; rudder[s]; bow sprit up to 50.8mm.

-Hull design shall be restricted to monohulls.

-Rig shall be restricted to a catrig.

-Ballast shall not move in reference to the hull.

-Mast height shall be no greater than 140% of length.

this is my first time drawing up a set of cohesive rules, so please, add your thoughts!:graduate::scared::stuck_out_tongue:

For the purposes of mast height, what is length? Where is the bottom end of ‘height’?

Exactly what is a monohull? Tunnel bottomed scow? If you’re not careful you end up needing a flotation tank and a measured (but not restricted)displacement. For examole, what happens if we take an extreme scow measured in fresh water and then go and sail it on the Great Salt Lake?

Rudder(s) need very carefull thought. Tyey’ve caused more problems with the Footy rule than anything else so far - and mostly for reasons that have no conceivable effect on performance.

Is an unballasted trim tab allowed?

Bumpkins?

Any restriction on B, C … rigs?

Any restrictions on electrics? Think carefully, neither the clearest nor the most sensible part of the Footy rule. For exam0ple, there’s no reason (except difficulty, weight, cost) why you can’t multiplex radio channels.