Lines Plans

Why is it that lines plans don’t show all of the buttock sections? I am new to seeing actual design drawings (lines plans) for a real boat and this seemed odd to me.

Probably because showing all the buttocks on a fairly flat bottomed hull can be confusing. The full lines for the builder should show the lot.

What frustrates me even more is that these days nobody shows the diagonals.

I’ve seen but never used them - Education Time is here - will the class please come to order?

The floor is all yours - see if you can keep it to 500 words or less for some of us who have long since left the classroom. :scared: :sly:

There is a belief, which I share, that the buttocks and diagonals show the effective form of the hull better than the waterlines and sections. If you read Uffa Fox, his commentaries on various designs quite frequently start with his assessment of the buttock lines. Diagonals are, of course, essential to the process of “paper fairing” a design before it is lofted for real. The modern assumption seems to be that the CAD programs will fair the design for you, so the diagonals don’t need to be shown.

A common phenomenon, often seen in the designs of L Francis Herreshoff, is that the fore sections are somewhat U-shaped, leading you to thing the hull is “tubby,” but when you look at the buttock lines they are fair and easy.

Hope this helps,

Earl

Similarly I have had in my hands the lines plan of a Tartan 37 centreboarder (it may be 38, I’m not that familiar with American types). This was allegedly the last hull to be drawn by Olin J. Stephens II personally. Once again, on the profile and buttocks the ‘bustloid’ stern looks dumpy and contorted. The diagonals are as clean as a whistle.