Keel deflection in canting or standard systems

Does anyone worry about keel (fin) deflection in the canting systems?
i have been close to tears after trying various combinations in materials,resins, etc. to build a stiff foil but to no avail i’m up to mk5 now and i’m still not happy with it’s deflection. Correct me if i’m wrong but in a canting system with the keel at full tilt the extra forces that come into play will make a normal fin deflect ALOT more than in a standard setup. My only thaught is to bite the bullet and increase the thickness (and weight) to make up for it.
I’ve been a boat builder for about 7 years now and sail in offshore races in “larger” boats and i understand that all keels deflect a little but too much deflection in a canting system seems to defeat the purpose.

Anyone have any ideas or experience in constuction of stiff foils i’d love some ideas and maybie thickness’ used and materials

cheers in advance, Sean.

Deflection is not good in either keel type. In a canting keel it means you are not achieving the cant angle you want and in a standard system it means the boat is heeling more than it should.
Make sure you’re using the best resin you can find and that you use matched molds bonded under high pressure. You need a combination of una directional and 45/45 woven carbon-no glass-no kevlar. You can experiment with the woven because its contribution is mainly to prevent twist. I’m about to start doing some experimental work on fins shortly but just got thru building a 16" fin using standard carbon. It has a 4" chord and supports 17 pounds with 1/4" deflection when set up horizontally-well within what I needed for this particular boat.
I’ll post more on this subject down the line.
Two others I’ve heard build stiff fins are Mike Eldred(no contact info) and Graham Bantock- Sails Etc.