J Boat Comparisions

My next project will be a 1:16 scale J Boat. Been a typical engineer we research the facts & figures before making informed decisions.
After reading a lot of books and web pages I am confused by the figures in the following table.
I thought that the power of a sailing craft can be formulated from SA/displ (a rough guide) I was amused to find the later built boats where down on this on this figure. Does this mean that they where slower???

Download Attachment: [ Comparision Table.doc](http://www.rcsailing.net/forum1/data/JohnB/20047192386_Comparision Table.doc)
20.98?KB

So if I wanted a race winner I would build the Enterprise or Shamrock V.

What are your thoughts???

Tried to insert the table into the post, but it came out all mixed up.

John,

While I am no expert on the J Class, there are a few things to keep in mind. The J class (like the 12 meter and IACC classes) are built to a rule. Under the rule, if you add sail area or decrease displacement (in order to increase the SA/D ratio) you need to change something else (probably waterline length). It is a tradeoff. Since these are heavy displacement boats, they will be limited in speed by their waterline length. These boats have long overhangs which increase the waterline length when heeled and pressed. These overhangs as well as other design facets of the boat evolved over the life of the class. So more than likely, the lower SA/Disp ratios used in later years were found to be faster because the waterline length could be increased with those boats and still meet the rule.

Endeavor II was considered by most experts to have been the fastest J. I’m not sure if when you scale the boat down, the same holds true. I know the effects of wetted surface area do not scale perfectly, so it may be the case that other J designs are faster models.

• Will

Will Gorgen