How strong is your hull?

Hi there,

I am totally new to rc sailing (have flown foamies before) and I am building my first hulls. The thing that puzzles me a bit is the reported weight of other hulls compared to my initial efforts. Mine come out at 42 (2mm depron, ricepaper + wbpu skin) and 53 gram (2mm depron, balsa kingplank and garboard, wbpu + ricepaper). Compared to other numbers I can find that is very light.
So that makes me wonder: do I underestimate the strength required (could be, I still need to marry a 600 gram keel + rig to this foam sandwich and I have no idea how :). Or do most people overestimate the required strength and end up with overbuilt boats? So how often does it happen that a boat break from some mechanical stress? (loose keelbox, torn forestay etc?) If the incidence of broken parts is low, isn’t the part too heavy & strong?

Jelle

My theory learned from some wonderfully talented “big” boat designers/builders …

If it doesn’t break, it is overbuilt! Build the next one just slightly stronger. :smiley:

I have some veneer ready to start on RG-65 hull #5 and it is 1/20 inch thick (about .5" or 1.27 mm) and I feel it might also be a bit “heavy” since it is from a hardwood species and not from balsa. In reality, you are simply keeping the water out and supporting the deck and keel.

Another indicator that things don’t go wrong often enough might be the lack of ‘safety’ equipment. It appears to be unusual to carry extra floatation material (like a blown up plastic bag in the bow), and I think that is not because people don’t mind the dive when their boat sinks…

Jelle, go for it my friend, most boats are overbuilt.
The application of some of your building skills acquired from the model aircraft hobby will help in the advancement of constructing these tiny craft.
As Dick has already written, “if it hasent broken, it`s built too heavy.”