hey newbie here

hey im new to the rc sail boat thing. i dont have a boat yet but what boat should i i get?

I have never owned a decent mass production boat. Not to say that they aren’t out there, I just have never spent the $$$. I am in the process of building my own USOM and it is the greatest thing ever. The learning curve is tremedous and with the AMYA Construction Guide and websites like this and the USOM Yahoo group there is never a shortage of knowledge. Hopefully my boat will be sailing by spring after 2 years. Boats can def. be built quicker, just not when there are weddings and your work shop is not in your house. Good luck.

yeah im go to build my own boat. but i want a prebuilt one to learn on

blademaster,

Years ago, I was clueless as to rc yachts. Almost bought a kit from a hobby shop then I found out about a sailing club near me and I ended up buying a used boat from one of the members. Actually it was hull/keel with a botched paint job, a rudder from another boat, old set of mismatched sails, and lots of extra parts thrown in. So it was a “short” kit… required building (lots of sanding), but not from scratch. Advantage: the seller was at the pond every week for ongoing advice, he gave help with tuning and teaching AND it was the class that everyone else had. Basically, it was being “returned to service” to the pond it was retired from.

Now, after building many boats, I’m finally building a kit since its the same class as the club I want to sail it at.

Anyhow, unless you want to sail alone, I’d find a club, buy the class, hopefully from one of the members (because of the after-the-sale “warranty”).

yar

If you can find a nearby club, then get what they sail.