Hello, newbie from Houston....

Hello,

as a newbie in this forum, I would like to present myself, 40ish, living in Houston Texas since 10 years but initially French Citizen (English is not my native language, so please be patient :wink: ). I’m a software engineer and absolutely love it, but get very frustrated not to “build” anything. Therefore I always do some manual work (renovate an old house), renovating old motorbikes, last year I started building a RC plane but it is still on going and I realized I’m scared I’m gonna go out there and trash it at the first take off, so it does not motivate me (and my result to flight simulator so far are not… great :frowning: )

I have done a lot of windsurf and even some real size sailboat in my life and I loved it (mainly the windsurf speed), so, I came to the conclusion that I should build … a RC sailboat… hence my presence in this forum :slight_smile:

I’m working in support environment, therefore I’m a firm believer in Murphy’s law and I know that it is not “IF” something is gonna go wrong but rather “WHEN”…

So, after reading and researching a little, I have a few questions:

• I have seen some sailboats sinking on Youtube, why do people do no not fill them up partially with some very light foam which would guarantee that they do not think without impacting (too much) performances?
  • I do not know any water area dedicated to this activity and I do not want to carry a canoe to get back my boat if anything goes wrong, therefore I think I should minimize the need for deep water and use a smaller keel as possible (which would also help for transport), any thoughts/recommendation?