genoas

I have an EC-12 that i am using as a “guinea pig” to test some ideas. I have just finished cutting a large masthead genoa for it-sort of a Code 0 type sail. Has anyone else tried this on any type of boat? My EC-12 isnt really an EC-12 anymore, as i have added much more ballast and some underbody fins so it sails upwind under its normal rig quite well now. I also have an asymmetrical spinnaker that i can set off of a bowsprit. So with the modifications, it is able to carry this extra sail area without completely losing control. Also, will having 2 sail winches for the genoa/spinnaker be efficient, or will the sheets fall off the drums?

http://perso.wanadoo.fr/aivmac/

Check out the diagrams under “technique”, to get an idea of what can be involved.

Regards, Jan.

Boaters are nice people.

Genoas have been around for sometime, I have been sailing them for over 25 years. The winch is usually the heart of the system, although cutting the genoa is not an easy task either.

I have been developing a genoa winch for over 9 months now and have 4 prototypes that I am testing with at the moment. It is slow going because most of my work time goes towards revenue generating/boat building… and it is hard at the end of the day to take free time (hehehe what’s that) and keep working on it… but anyway… there is still progress being made. The trick is to balance weight/power to make the winch useable for classes that allow it as well as develop for future classes that don’t exist yet but could be based around it.

If you would like to see a couple of boats with Genoas in and out of the water take a look at the website under the J boat RANGER with it’s massive genoa testing on dry land (which is so much easier) for torquw and reliability, and an ancient pic of a Half-Meter (look under boats/Half-Meter) to see it on the water.