Formula 100 Technical Development

This topic has been started at the specific request of Gappy(Blair Gerard)-- the proud owner and developer of the first F100 canting keel model in the world…
Anybody anywhere working on F100’s is more than welcome to contribute to this topic!

Doug Lord
–High Technology Sailing/Racing

Doug thanks for starting the new thread.

I work in the marine industry in New Zealand suppling most deck gear and hardware, hydraulics and ecltronics and so forth you we have a number of major brands which include Lewmar, Navtec and Brooks and gatehouse to a varity of boat builder and boats and when the AC teams were around these also. I do all of the hands on work for the our company along with specing the boats out as well and comissioning a number of boats. I recently did the Navtec comissioning on the New Pyewacket which a is leading quite a discussion here.

I have done quite a bit of sailing mainly in dinghys but in the last few years have done a lot of big boat work including a coupel of Hamilton island race weeks and The Sydney to Hobart which was on a boat built here for a US owner the boat was called ICON and was a Bob Perry 66 and based in Seattle now. At the moment I am sport boating on a 6.5m boat and we are doing very well having won all of the trophys last season and doing pretty well so far this season.

Any way thats enough about me.

My F100 just started out as myself wanting to build a canting keel 1metre as I did not want to sail one metres and deal with their politics so I started to build a boat and made a mould and a lot of friends have since taken hulls and decks off this although they are opting for fixed keels at the moment.

The basic boat is as below:

Length 1000mm
Beam 250mm
Draft 450mm
Bulb weight 1.9kgs
Fore and aft foil 200m deep
Rig 1.75 from waterline.
Sail area unsure as I have not worked it out.