First Hull

Time for bed. I finished the basic hull.

Here are a couple of pix. It is held together with masking tape and some thin CA, which ran a bit here and there. I will probably use some strips of .7 oz glass to strengthen and seal the seams. It needs some internal structure to help it hold shape. I’ve got a piece of balsa scrap doing the job now.

Pete

Edit: It’s morning, and I’ve had my coffee so I can babble about the hull a bit.

This is my first attempt at a design. I think I first heard of Footys on Jan 1, and I think I designed this hull on Thursday, though I probably started on Wednesday.

It is 1/64th ply except the transom. It is made in the style of a Razor but I went for a shape with the beam well forward to keep the bows from getting pushed under on a run. Never having seen a footy at all, let alone watched one sailing the vision of plowing the bows under on a run comes from what I know about cat rigged boats in general.

Not everything came out exactly as I wanted, but I am making templates each step of the way, so the second boat will go a lot faster than the first (in terms of construction) and will be a more accurate implementation of what I intend.

Never having built one of these I have a lot of questions but I do have enough background at modeling (airplanes) to find my own way through the basics.

Pete

Pete,

Looks very good, but what took you so long?:smiley:

Keep building light, and keep us posted, please

andrew

I would have been done with the hull much sooner, but my boss hates the smell of CA and for some odd reason expects me to do certain non-hobby related things during working hours. He can’t keep me from thinking about what I want though!

Pete

Pete,