Cheque Book racing

Hi, I’m new to Footies but I do have a fair amount of experience of full size high performance yachts. Can someone help me?

I am building a home-designed Footy. I also have a good, reasonably well paid job. To me it is quite obvious that (if I am prepared to rake the trouble) I should use a carbon tissue/epoxide hull with an ultra-lightweight balsa core, tapered carbon tube mast (the model airraft people will sell be a 5.5 mm tapering to 2.8 mm tube with a wall tickness of 0.75 mm ex-stock), etc.

I must admit I did blench a bit when I investigated a titanium rudder stock (about ?90 = $180) but otherwise the materials are objectively quite cheap. The carbon tissue, for example, is about ?4/$8 per square metre which gives you enough for about 10 Footis, assuming no wastage. 1000 m of 10 kg breaking strain Kelvar twine is expensive in first cost (about ?9, $18) but must be pretty much a lifetime supply. The carbon tube for the mast is about $4/$8.

I do not know whether Bombur will work - the design is extreme in any ways and may be horribly wrong. It may also be that I do not have the skill in my hands to use such high-tech materials properly in very small sizes. However, I will more or less guarantee that I will have more ballast and sail-carrying power available than most of the boats described in this forum - which has to be a good start.

I have no inhibitions about taking more trouble over the construction. It seems to me that if I am preapared to take a few weeks to build a hull, it is quite fair if I have an advantage (dream on) over someone who does the wole hing in a few hours.

However, are such high-tech materials ‘cheque-book’ racing? I don’t think so - the quantities involved are so tiny that the absolute cost is tiny.

But what does anyone else think?

Angus

Development class - go for it !
:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

Hi Angus, welcome to Footys.