Carbon Fiber US one meter mast source

to all you homebuilders:

I have been building for several years now, and have found the following to be fundamentally true:

1. a motivated builder CAN build a regionally or nationally competative US one meter hull in an average(or less than average) home shop

2. a motivated builder CAN build a decent rudder fin in an average(or less than average) home shop

3. a motivated builder CAN build a decent set of sails in their living room. . . but a set from one of the big names will probably we worth the going rate.

4. a motivated builder WITH proper tooling CAN build a decent keel fin in a properly appointed home shop

5. Try all you would like you most likely will NOT be able to build a decent carbon fiber mast at a good price.

With this in mind, I have been focusing my recent efforts on number 4 and 5. I am PLEASED to announce some very good developments on number 5. In the past, I have used masts from bob sterne and most recently from Graham Bantock via GBMY. I LOVE my sterne mast, but boy is it expensive. The bantock pulltruded masts are very nice, and more affordable, but the 8mm is too soft in my opinon, and the 10mm, to stiff. Furthermore, for my cheap homebuilding attitude, the bantock masts are still a little on the pricey side (especially if you are looking to build the 2-3 rigs it takes to be regionally competitive) .

Sterne Tapered wrapped carbon:
weight: 2.4 ounces
cost: approx $150.00 usd

Bantock Pulltruded carbon 10mm:
weight :2.8 ounces
cost: $60.74 usd @gbmy.com

Tonight, I recieved samples of some pulltruded masts similar to the bantock section that are, 72" in length (70" usable lengths, enough for a keel stepped mast at max height). Their diameters are 8.0mm, 9.35mm and 10mm, weighing 2.2, 2.7, and 3.5 ounces respectively. I did a quick comparative analysis to rank their stiffness and found the following (ranked from stiffest to softest):
{see test procedure below}
1- 10mm sample {63 ounces}