Build Log: RG65 Simpatico

I have started to build one of the original six simpatico kits. I have been following Kurt’s (M16) build log and thought I would document my experience as well. I will try and take pictures along the way and also update this log when able. Disclaimer: I have built several plane kits, mostly gliders, over the years and I have scratch built a Cobra Footy and Springer Pusher Tug from plans, so I am not a total novice when it comes to working with balsa and thin ply…but I am far from being a craftsman (as you will see from my mistakes which I will point out during the build). My other boat builds include several Victoria’s and a Soling 1M, but those were more of assembly projects rather than builds. Enough of the intro, let’s get started.

My box arrived with a good sized hole punched into the side…not a good sign. Several of the wood parts had been dislodged from their frames, but none of the critical pieces were damaged. The first two pictures show the contents of the box.

Since this is a pre-production kit the only reference document was the picture of the boat on the water, which was tacked to the outside of the box. I guess I will find out over the course of the build if everything was included.

More to follow…

The first step in the build is to put together a jig. The laser cutting is top notch and the needed pieces required very little effort to remove them from their holdings. I glued the jig pieces to a 1x6 piece of pine I had laying around the shop. I paid close attention to getting the jig as straight and level as possible because any deviance here would be magnified later on in the build. This picture shows the assembled jig.

The next step in the build was to install the bulkheads. As suggested by Kurt (M16) I ‘drilled’ a hole in bulkhead #4 in order to be able to route the sail servo wires to the receiver. I tack glued the bulkheads to the building board with low-temp hot glue.