Build Log first sailboat build - footy Razor

Hello,

I thought I might make a build log for the first boat I’ve ever built. I decided to do a footy Razor, to keep build costs down and to hopefully see it through, since I’m a novice at boats.

So far I have purchased the following:
2- 1/32"x6"x36" sheets of balsa
1- 1/8"x4"x36" sheet of balsa
2- 3/32"x3/32"x36" square balsa sticks
CA glue
Elmers Carpenters Glue

I printed out the Razor plans from http://footy.rcsailing.net/plans.php on 8.5"x14" paper.

I cut out the patterns and taped them together to get a feel for how it would go with wood. I then printed out and cut another set for applying to the Balsa. I modified the bow angle a little and the bottoms to match the change. I used stick glue for paper to adhere the patterns to the Balsa. I cut the patterns out of the Balsa using an Exacto knife. I tried the scissors, but it’s easier for me, with the Exacto. I have done other types of wood models and I’m familliar with an Exacto knife.

Below are a couple of photos of the patterns. This will probably be a long build, just because of funds. After I assemble the hull, keel and rudder, I will have to wait a couple of months to buy the servos, radio, etc… So the thread might be gone for a while… But I will try to see it all through and keep updating as I can.

Added - I just finished gluing it together. Harder than I expected. I had to use CA & I’m not familliar with it, but it’s glued now. I used Wood glue on the inside seams for now… Here’s a couple of pictures.

Justin

Well I did a little more to the build today. Did some fine sanding on the outer hull, primed it to see the rough spots and used filler to get it smoother. Also cut out the deck. I cut it larger than the pattern because I’m going to put a slight bow in it.

Just one pic for today…

I will start building the keel, rudder and inner components sometime next week… It’s nice to make something again with wood.

Justin,