Ballast

I just bought a sailboat, I am new to this hobby. The kit (Kyosho Fairwind 900) asks for ballast. (1.7 kg) My hobby shop recommended using 12 gage pellets, the gun shop recommended using fishing sinks. What should I use. Should I insist and order ballast. Please help, I can’t wait to try my sailboat ! [:-basketball]

i have a victor kit australia II. the kit has a hollow shell that is to be filled with lead shot. i used bb shot. and lead tire wieght. the bbs will go right to the bottom of the keel, i know they are expensive but the only other option you have is to cast you lead. and if this is your first boat, buy the bb
cougar
long live the cup and cris dickson

I recommend you check out this link too.

http://www.kyosho.com/faq/faq-kyob1007.html

Enjoy!

Muzza

Hello Jacouille,

I am the Class Secretary for the Fairwind Class in the US.

Stay away from the fishing sinkers. They are too large and will not “pack” well down into the keel. The smaller the shot you can find, the better it will pack and the lower in the keel your weight will be. I used copper BBs for my boat. They are a little less dense than lead so my weight did not get as low in the boat. but the Boat still sails fine. I won the national championship with it last year.

If you plan to sail with an AMYA Fairwind fleet then you will need to conform to the class rules wich specify a minimum weight of 8 lbs. The boat sails amazingly equal anywhere in the 8 to 10 lb range, so you do not have to be too fussy on the final weight. but if you are worried about the final weight, you can under fill the keel and then wait until the boat is finished to top it off with the final ballast to get it up to 8.0 lbs.