"A" Class with weather helm

Hi all
this is my first time here,:slight_smile: i have a problem with that my A class boat that ive just bought in that it has too much weather helm and also tends to sail with the bow down (meaning i loose rudder control because of bow diving).:confused:
i would Appreciate any advice on how to correct these problems.

Thankyou
John.

sounds like it could be fixed with a rig-redesign… little bit shorter aspect maybe… (that is to solve the nose diving) and either cut so SA out of the mainsail, or add some to the jib… (for the weather helm)

the other thing you could do, is just move the rudder back, and the keel forward! lol.

just thoughts

:graduate:

This sounds very odd for an A, Do you have a picture?

A.

Just a thought - Almost sounds like you were sailing overpowered in too much wind…?? A’s often have a couple of sails or rigs for different windspeeds, especially smaller sails for higher winds speeds. If you were overpowered your boat would behave just as you described. Please ignore me if this was not the case. :smiley:

Thank you for your comments i will try to get a B rig for the boat.
here is a pic of the “A” Class.

Thank you again

John…

Hi John

Your photo suggests there might not be enough twist in your main or jib (on the wind). This link is aimed at the IOM, but the same sort of settings suit the “A”…

http://www.onemetre.net/Race/Roughset/Roughset.htm

Nose diving (off the wind) is another matter, and indicates you have (way!) too much sail hoisted for the conditions. An over-pressed (and well-designed) “A” will usually start to surf rather than nose-dive. Bulb cant is an issue here, and if you regularly sail in heavy weather you’ll need to tip your bulb up some:

http://www.onemetre.net/Design/Bulbcant/BulbCant.htm

Thank you for your reply Lester.

i have just started R/C Sailing with a club in Tasmania Australia, which is nearly all “A” Class boats.