RC Scow???

I am not an engineer or capable of designing a model yacht, but I am curious–why has no one designed an RC sailboat with a scow hull? Now this is just my imagination running a little wild, but I could see having bilgeboards that are raised and lowered with servos (like a real scow) and the cat-type rig… is this just the daydreams of an amateur RC sailboat sailor/builder or is there some merit to the basic principal? The thought just occured to me and I thought it might make for some interesting speculation/debate. If I’m not mistaken, in big boat terms, a scow is the next best thing to a multi-hull for speed right?

Andy

Andy, I 've built and tested a small 36" scow using a movable ballast system–it was too small to work well. A scow must have some form of movable ballast so that it can be controllably sailed at an optimum angle of heel. If you just use a fixed keel you have a problem with the thing sitting flat in light air which is real slow and when it heels with a single keel fin then the fin breaks the surface which causes a lot of drag as the boat heels.
A few years back I remember reading in MY about some guys that built some longer scows.
My opinion is that to make a really fast rc scow it would have to be around 60" in length using bilge boards like the real thing and would absolutely require a movable ballast system to prevent having a keel fin and bulb which is HUGE drag. You probably would be able to incorporate “sissy floats”–training floats) to keep the thing from capsizing while you learn how to handle it. This type of scow model at that length would be very fast I think especially if it used a tunnel hull.
Being able to use the movable ballast system to heel it controllably in light and medium air and stabilize it in heavy air would give control similar to the real boat…

Doug Lord
microsail.com
monofoiler.com
High Technology Sailing/Racing