building own winch ???

Hello

I am new to this sport :slight_smile: So sorry for stupied questions. [:-banghead]
But i was wondering if anybody have informations on how to build a winch out of a normal servo ??
One on my friends told me this is possibel…
Since i don?t have so much money it would be grat to do this.

Thanks.

BestRegards

Boom

Hi Boom! Welcome.

I think the best person to talk to would be Steve Andre. If I am right, does anyone have Steve’s email address?

The Other Matt

There is a site on the web that tells you how to do what you want, but off hand I can’t remember were it is. I have read it myself in the past but it was really technical and at the time I was not up to understanding it. The only trouble with it is that a sail winch rotates 41/2 times, where as, one made from a normal servo, the rotations are endless.
Peter

Thanks for the fast replys…
I will try to built on on me own, if it does not work i can always ugrade to a real winch. [:-bigeyes2]
If any of you guys find the site where it is explaind please post the link.

Thanks again

Boom

You can look up Steve Andre on the members list here and e-mail or send him a personal message…

Doug Lord
–High Technology Sailing/Racing

The links are servo-modification links. If you pull the feedback pot out of a servo, you’ll get endless rotations. I’ve used this for radar masts, etc. Also - pulling the gearbox off entirely and using the motor output is a cheap way to power a tiny scale powerboat.

By changing the feedback pot or the inline resistors, you can modify the number of turns, but it’s a ‘hardwired’ solution, but it’s cheap.

This page has more R/C links than you’ve ever seen, and there are servo-mod links on here. There are more sites, but this is a good place to start.

http://www.hstore.com.au/RCLinks.htm

There is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats. Kenneth Graeme, Wind in the Willows.

I am here.